Skip navigation

I tell you what guys, 2016 has not been a kind year.

I don’t normally write this kind of blog, but I was thinking about it anyway as Thanksgiving approaches, and then I read this article.  I hope it’s not as dark as all that, but if wishes were fishes, I’d be a mermaid.  Or something like that.  So here goes.

WARNING: politics.  If you just want a recipe, scroll down to the bold text about broccoli.

I am thankful to live in a nation where the law is on the side of free speech, and freedom of religion.  I am thankful and awed that gay marriage was legalized over a year ago.  I am thankful that there is a second wave of civil rights for women, gays, people of color, and gender identity.  I’m thankful to live in a democratic nation that believes I have the right to vote.  I’m thankful for my education, and all the things that it helps me understand about the world.  I am thankful none of my family are in the hospital this Thanksgiving.  And I am thankful for my uninhibited access to the internet, net neutrality, and the ability to blog about these things right now.

Things I believe:

More knowledge is always better than less. Always.

God is everywhere, in everything, not in just one building, one church, or one man.

All human beings deserve equal civil rights.  You should be able to worship, love, and live as you wish as long as no one is getting hurt.

Hell, animals deserve civil rights.

You cannot claim to be pro-life while eating meat, supporting the death penalty, or voting against social services for impoverished mothers and children. Life is not exclusive to human beings, nor does it end at birth.

Your life matters.  YOU matter.  And so do I.

Look guys, as a writer, I try to make friends with all kinds of people and learn how they work.  I might be cranky and kinda asocial at times, but ultimately, I’m forgiving of a lot of human failings and I have hope.  I want to believe.  But in electing You-Know-Who, I feel like America is not the place I thought it was.  He was the worst option, and now I can’t help but wonder if we’re just getting what we deserve.  Except, no one deserves to lose their civil rights just because they exist.  If you’re scared right now, me too.  And I’m not going to just stand there and watch when I see something bad happen to someone else, I’m going to Do Something.  I hope you’ll do Something too.

I’m actually afraid to post this blog.  And I’m sad there are things I don’t even know how to talk about here.  I’m at a loss.

So here’s a recipe for the broccoli at Old Spaghetti Factory.

Broccoli with Browned Butter and Cheese

Ingredients:

broccoli florets(how much? I dunno, how many people you trying to feed? I usually get a couple pounds)

3-6 Tablespoons of real butter

Mizithra cheese(I found some at Sprouts!)

Steam the broccoli and put it on a pretty plate.  Then put the butter in a pan and heat on medium while stirring constantly.  You’ll smell it as it starts to brown.  It smells great. Keep stirring for maybe 30 more seconds after you start to smell the butter browning, but careful not to burn it. Turn off the heat and drizzle the butter over the broccoli. Grate the cheese and sprinkle generously over the broccoli.  It’s beautiful.  Don’t eat it all in one sitting.

 

2 Comments

  1. Is it bad that I still don’t know how to discuss the election or views with people that voted for or support you know who. I get angry and I don’t want to feel that way. One person that suports him I love dearly and will love always, however I have to keep that a constant thought whenever I think about what they contributed to. Then people go well I couldn’t vote for a murderer, I say okay, what about 3rd party, people say it’s a wasted vote. I say if people were really truly sick of the way things are they would vote with their conscious and not the status quo. I feel that people either do what is expected or go way off the deep end. But most people I talk to loved Bernie, and yet here we are. I’m scared and don’t really know what to expect. However I am overjoyed to call you my friend and know that you will stand on the side that I will stand on. Also I know my animal eating, pro death penalty, pro women’s right to choose, leanings are contridictory, but it’s a spectrum. Its difficult to be all one way.

      • vegetarianninjalibrarian
      • Posted November 25, 2016 at 6:46 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      Aw Darcy, I don’t judge you for eating meat, etc. I’m pro-choice too, actually, but it makes me angry when people blithely say they’re pro-life when that’s a misnomer and they’re really pro-birth. People like that need to take a good hard look at their values and what they support and why, especially considering there are a lot of single issue voters out there who voted for You-Know-Who just because he said he was pro-life(a huge misnomer), ignoring all the other crimes against humanity he supported(waterboarding, hurting the families and children of terrorists, etc.) And I’m sorry you have to weigh your love against your values with some people. That is a very difficult position to be in. And you’re right, it is a spectrum. I think seeing the shades of grey is a good thing though, since it means you’re willing to re-examine your values and consider them from different angles rather than just believing blindly. I’m glad we’re friends too. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

