Skip navigation

We all knew it was coming. We’ve known for years.  I didn’t even know him.  But I had the good fortune to meet him once, and he was delightful.  He was funny, cheerful, and kind to a doe-eyed fangirl.  I love his books, and respect and admire him as a writer.  So when my friend texted me this morning to tell me that Terry Pratchett had died, I saw the world get a little darker.  His books were my friend Marion’s comfort when she was dying of cancer.  His books were always the ones I turned to for comfort after reading a tragedy, or when I was going through a rough time in my own life.  Whenever my friend Nick’s birthday was coming up, the first thing I did was look to see if Terry Pratchett had a new book coming out.  And now, there will only ever be one more book by Terry Pratchett.  I mourn more than I thought I could for a stranger.  I can’t imagine how hard it is for those who actually knew him.  Good luck and safe travels on your last adventure, Terry.

Leave a Reply

