Skip navigation

10626594 So I started reading The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvater.  I can never seem to put her books down, because then I’m just wondering what happens next and I NEED to know.

This is the story of Puck and Sean; both teenagers, both orphaned, both born and raised on a small island, probably off the coast of England or Ireland(though it’s never stated precisely). Once a year the island becomes a tourist attraction for the deadly Scorpio Races, where the legendary water horses tend to eat or drown their riders.  Sean is a veteran of the races, but Puck is the first girl to ever enter.  Both Sean and Puck need to win, or lose something very important to them, but there’s only one first place. Despite the fact that they are rivals, they strike up a friendship.  As tensions before the races mount, Sean and Puck find that the other riders can be just as dangerous as the water horses, and they may need each other just to survive to the finish line.

This was a very low key love story, but all the characters were interesting, and the world of the island and its water horses felt very real.  I was also fascinated with the use of the legend of the kelpie, which I haven’t encountered before in fiction.

While reading, I also became obsessed with the description of the flaky, honey glazed November cakes.  I decided to head to the internets and find out if they were a real thing, or if Maggie had made them up.  Either way, I wanted a recipe, even if it was just some book nerd like me making something up so they can eat the book as well as read it.  It turns out, some book nerd did make up a recipe: Maggie Stiefvater.  So here it is.  I’m looking forward to trying this out!

Leave a Reply

