Skip navigation

Don’t think I can ever best last year’s post, so here’s something small. My vegan friend Amanda gave me a basting recipe for tofurkey that’s really fabulous:
Olive oil
soy sauce
agave nectar
sage
dill
thyme

How much of each ingredient you might want to include depends entirely on how large your roast is, and on your individual taste. When I make it for my roast, which is about the size of a coconut, it’s about half olive oil, half soy sauce(about a quarter cup of each) with only about a tablespoon of agave. I shake in about a teaspoon of sage, and at least a tablespoon of dried dill and rubbed thyme. Probably fresh herbs would be better, but I didn’t plan that far ahead, and I don’t want to go to the store in search of fresh herbs the day before Thanksgiving. Ha!

So what am I thankful for? A lot of the same stuff I was thankful for last year, but most of all for my own health, and the health of my family. It’s been a rough year in that respect, and I hope I can be thankful for everyone’s health next year too. I hope you can say the same. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

