Skip navigation

Inspired by the I Believe monologue in Neil Gaiman’s American Gods:

Today, I am thankful to have a career. I am thankful for cold, gray rainy days, and cloudless days too. I am thankful for sunsets and sunrises. I am thankful for the softness of a puppy’s ears, laughing babies at the library, and the knowledge that I have a hand to hold. I am thankful for whipped cream in my coffee, a fireplace I hardly use, alarm clocks and tofurkey. I am thankful that I can get out of bed in the morning and stand on my own two feet. I am thankful for books, and friends, and family, and Excedrin, and Robot Unicorn Attack. I am thankful for Muslims, Atheists, Jews, Mormons, Pagans, and Christians, and the right we have to live side by side and argue openly about our differences. I am thankful that some days acceptance of people’s differences is growing in this country. I am thankful for all the hearts that have been broken and learned to love again, for all the jerks who made it possible, and all the friends who carried them. I am thankful that I never gave up hope. I am thankful for my fingernails, for singing in the car, for waterproof eyeliner, washing my hair, and yoga. I am especially thankful that you can buy chocolate almost anywhere. I am thankful for tears, and laughter, and dirty jokes, and vegan cookies, and lesbians, and gay boys, and all the geeks and nerds. I am thankful for art and colored pencils and green bean casserole and hugs and too many books about vampires and werewolves. I am thankful that I live in a country where people are considered mostly equal, and that things do get better. And I am thankful for the internet and all the things it lets me share with the people I care about. Happy Thanksgiving.
And just to stay on food topic: here’s what I’m making for dinner right now:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/crustless-spinach-quiche/

Leave a Reply

