Skip navigation

I’ve been neglecting this blog for the last two months because November and December are pretty busy months.  I made a failed attempt at NaNoWriMo(my final wordcount was about 10,000) but I’m still going, and the wordcount is now 22,000.  I managed to take over TusCon‘s registration duties with only a few hold ups, and as far as I can tell, no major mistakes.  The Tucson Festival of Books science fiction and fantasy line up was almost done when we got a few last minute names squeaking in.  The only one I can give you now is Joan D. Vinge, as she is pretty much confirmed, but I have several more.  I’ll post links for them once they’re confirmed.

I’ve been meaning to post a list of good books for middle school girls with strong female characters, but that would actually require some time and effort, and time has been in short supply lately.  Hopefully soon, now that the holidays are almost over.

So instead, I give you more food, inspired by a conversation between my dad and a neighbor:

Easy cheesy eggs and Spinach:

1 bag fresh spinach

1 egg

garlic and soy sauce to season(one small clove of fresh minced or pressed garlic is best, but powdered will do if you are lazy like me)

A slice or two of fancy cheese, like gruyere (the family got some for Christmas)

1-2 Tablespoons of oil(olive oil is good, but I like sesame oil)

Wilt the spinach in a pan with a little oil, seasoning lightly with a tiny splash of soy sauce and a bit of garlic just before it is done.  Transfer to a plate and spread into a bed for the egg.  Top the spinach with cheese slices.  Here’s the part where I avoid doing extra dishes: rinse the pan, then dry it on the stove and add a little more oil and the egg.  Cook the egg over easy, over medium, or over hard to your taste, then lay on top of the cheese and spinach.  Let the cheese melt into the spinach and the egg just a little.  Salt to taste.  Yummy!  Healthy?  Kinda.

Want it vegan? Use some almond or rice cheese and pan fry a little slice of tofu with soy sauce and garlic!

Leave a Reply

