Skip navigation

I made baklava with some friends a few nights ago.  We used this recipe, and it was fantastic! I recommend using a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon instead of a level one, and adding some nutmeg into the mixture for extra flavor.  Oh, and I thought the sugary honey sauce would have been better with more honey than sugar.  Next time I’m going to try it without the sugar, just using honey and some water and vanilla.  I’m hoping this will make the sauce a little thicker, and give it a stronger honey flavor, because I love honey!

If you are vegan, or cooking for vegans, I discovered that the phyllo dough I bought is vegan, so if you use Earth Balance vegan buttery sticks instead of butter, and agave nectar instead of honey, this is easy to turn into a vegan treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

