Skip navigation

I’m making some healthy, vegetarian lasagna with some friends tonight.  Since this is the Vegetarian Ninja Librarian’s blog, I think I’m within my rights to post recipes as well as book lists.  This one is based on a stuffed shell recipe I saw on the Food Channel years ago, and maybe from a South Beach recipe, but I don’t know.  I’m sort of making it up, so bear with me, or don’t, your choice.

Whole wheat lasagna noodles

half a bag of broccoli florets

one medium red onion, sliced thinly into semi-circles

1 or 2 handfulls of sliced kalamata olives

1 medium zucchini sliced into thin coins

sliced mushrooms(optional)

olive oil

tomato sauce(might make some, might just buy a nice basil tomato sauce)

1 cup? low fat ricotta cheese(you can mix in a teaspoon of basil for extra flavor)

about half a cup of shredded low moisture mozzarella

parmesan cheese for top

2-4 cloves fresh garlic, minced or crushed

salt to taste

large frying pan, wooden spoon, and lasagna pan(13×9 or similar size)

Preheat oven 350.

Cook the noodles according to package.

In a large pan, caramelize onions with broccoli and garlic, and no more than two tablespoons of olive oil.  Add the zucchini and mushrooms when it is almost done.  Last, add the kalamata olives.

Pour a little tomato sauce into the bottom of the pan.  Then add first layer of noodles. Top with caramelized veggies and sauce, then add a layer of ricotta.  Continue layering until you’ve put on the last layer of noodles.  Top with just  little bit of sauce, then the layer of mozarella and parmesan.  Bake about 45 minutes(I might pull mine out at 30 minutes because I’m impatient, and it’s all cooked anyway).

Changes may be added to this after I actually make the lasagna and figure out what I’m doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

